Happiness is a new tank

Questions and answers about developing film, enlarging and making your own prints. Also, topics on scanning your negatives, transparencies and photos.
Julio1fer
Prolific Poster
Prolific Poster

Happiness is a new tank

Post by Julio1fer »

Finally decided to get a new tank. My old no-name metal tank was starting to leak too much for comfort.

Although I have been developing my own B&W for 60 years, this is my first new developing tank, ever. It has room for two 35mm or one 120, which is quite fine for what I do.

Found it in the local market site, new in the box within its original plastic bag. The seller told me that it belonged to his late father and that it had never been used. It certainly looks it. Price was fair.

There is an instruction manual in the box :D ; but any tip from the seasoned veterans in the forum will be appreciated.

GrahamS
Prolific Poster
Prolific Poster

Re: Happiness is a new tank

Post by GrahamS »

The only advice I can give you is to make sure that the reels are absolutely dry before you load a film. Any residual moisture will cause the film to jam up when you try to load it.
GrahamS
Age brings wisdom....or age shows up alone. You never know.
Julio1fer
Prolific Poster
Prolific Poster

Post by Julio1fer »

Thanks Graham! You are absolutely right - plastic reels are impossible to load if not perfectly dry.

The tank came with a long strip of black 35 mm film inserted in a reel, so one can practice loading. A nice touch.

Looking at a complete new tank helped me to make sense of an older, battered Paterson model that came from my late father’s wasted darkroom; maybe it can be used after all. But that is a different project.
Bennybee
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Post by Bennybee »

Hi Julio,