Sigma DP2 Quattro mini review

Small mirrorless camera systems, including some with interchangeable lenses.
Brazile
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Sigma DP2 Quattro mini review

Post by Brazile »

A couple folks have mentioned the DP2Q here, and I guess it's time for me to 'fess up that I have one now. I'm still getting to know it, so I can't say that I'm getting the best possible results out of it. But I like what I'm seeing so far (I've had it for only a couple weeks) and I'm still learning its quirks. The camera itself is fairly straightforward to use (particularly compared to older Sigma models, of which I have several). The raw converter, Sigma Photo Pro v6 (SPP6), leaves a lot to be desired, though. The version that supports the Quattro camera(s) is still in something like a "beta" form, though, so I expect improvements -- particularly in robustness and performance -- in the production version of the program, which is due out in October.

The fixed 30mm lens (45mm equivalent on this sensor, a 1.5x crop APS-C sized Foveon sensor with a slightly new architecture) is excellent as all the DP lenses have been. The new sensor has high resolution and seems to have better color rendering than some of its predecessors. The body is itself is odd-looking, but I find it pleasant enough to use; easy to grip and not heavy. It's not as pocketable as the previous DP models, but I find it easy enough to tuck in a bag or a larger jacket pocket, or I often just carry it on its strap, as it's so light. It does not have the intense micro contrast of the Merrill cameras, but for some kinds of shooting that's a good thing (portraits in particular), and you can certainly amp up the contrast in post if you want, even if you can't easily get to the same ridiculous level that the Merrills are capable of. On the other hand, battery life and processing speed of the Q is much improved from the Merrills.